Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Atlanta VA Health Care System

 

Research - For Investigators

Conducting Research at the Atlanta VA

Like all institutions, the Atlanta VA Medical Center has policies and procedures regulating the conduct of research at its facility. 

The Research Office acts as a resource to investigators, study coordinators, and laboratory personnel during the design and implementation of your projects.  We encourage you to utilize these members of our team should you have any questions or need guidance.

Michael Hart, MD , Chief, Research Service

Antonio Laracuente, Director of Research Operations: antonio.laracuente03@va.gov 404 728-7740
David Knight, Science Information Officer: david.knight2@va.gov  404 321-6111 ext. 204827
Derek Key, Assistant SIO: Derek.Key@va.gov 404 321-6111 ext. 201458
Kallie Medbery, WOC and Credentialing Coordinator: Mary.Medbery@va.gov 404 321-6111 ext. 206177
Daniel Roysden, Ph.D., VA/IRB Liaison: droysde@emory.edu 404 321-6111 ext. 202512
Rodney Thompson, Research Compliance Officer: rodney.thompson2@va.gov 404 321-6111 ext. 206964
Jennifer Whelan, Human Research Protection Program Quality Manager: jennifer.Whelan@va.gov 404 321-6111 ext. 203452
Jane Guidot, Clinical Studies Center Manager: jane.guidot@va.gov 404 321-6111 ext.206933
Ioana St. Amand, Biosafety Officer:  Ioana.StAmand@va.gov 404 321-6111 ext. 207273

Click here to Access Policies on Conducting Human Research at VA

Click here to Access Policies on Conducting Laboratory and Animal Research at VA

Click here to Access the Data Analytics Core Site


Click here to Access Information about Credentialing and Training

What do I have to do to get started in research

Find A Collaborator at the Atlanta VAMC 


How do I start an IPA: 
To start an IPA - fill the IPA form and send to Roberta.Tops@VA.Gov

Click here to find out what Core Equipment is Available at the Atlanta VAMC

How do I request Medical Media Services:  Requesting Medical Media Services (VA Intranet Only)

FAQs (questions that people have about things such as publications, presentations, etc.)

Forms

Tools

Data Security Forms

VA Merit Review Forms (Link to VA Funding Page and Forms)

Funding Page
Forms

 

top of page