Attention A T users. To access the menus on this page please perform the following steps. 1. Please switch auto forms mode to off. 2. Hit enter to expand a main menu option (Health, Benefits, etc). 3. To enter and activate the submenu links, hit the down arrow. You will now be able to tab or arrow up or down through the submenu options to access/activate the submenu links.

Atlanta VA Health Care System

 

Research - For Investigators

Conducting Research at the Atlanta VA

Like all institutions, the Atlanta VA Medical Center has policies and procedures regulating the conduct of research at its facility. 

The Research Office acts as a resource to investigators, study coordinators, and laboratory personnel during the design and implementation of your projects.  We encourage you to utilize these members of our team should you have any questions or need guidance.

Michael Hart, MD , Chief, Research Service

Antonio Laracuente, Director of Research Operations: antonio.laracuente03@va.gov
David Knight, Science Information Officer: david.knight2@va.gov 
Derek Key, Assistant SIO: Derek.Key@va.gov
Kallie Medbery, WOC and Credentialing Coordinator: Mary.Medbery@va.gov 
Daniel Roysden, Ph.D., VA/IRB Liaison: droysde@emory.edu
Rodney Thompson, Research Compliance Officer: rodney.thompson2@va.gov
Jennifer Whelan, Human Research Protection Program Quality Manager: jennifer.Whelan@va.gov
Jane Guidot, Clinical Studies Center Manager: jane.guidot@va.gov 

Click here to go to Conducting Human Research at VA

What do I have to do to get started in research

Take me to:

Find A Collaborator at the Atlanta VAMC 

FAQs (questions that people have about things such as publications, presentations, etc.)

 

What Core Equipment is Available at the Atlanta VAMC   

Great Ideas in Grant Preparation (Useful Tools)   

Link to Department of Medicine Research Tools and Tips

Link to Requesting Medical Media Services (VA Intranet Only)

Atlanta VA Research & Development

Guidance
Forms

Tools

top of page 

Data Security Forms


top of page

VA Human Research Policies and Procedures- Click Here to Access

Institutional Animal Care and Use Committee (IACUC)  

 top of page

Radiation Safety 


top of page

Safety/Institutional Biosafety Committee 

 

 rDNA Information and Forms

 

top of page

 

VA Merit Review Forms (Link to VA Funding Page and Forms)

Funding Page
Forms

 

top of page